Brand of the Week: Phillip Lim…Ramble


The recession has not been kind to the wallet, but Target has given access to high end designers for those on a budget. There have been hits (Missoni) and misses (Neiman Marcus collab) like anything else, but consistently Target collaborations have caused a feeding frenzy, leaving shoppers elated or crestfallen, depending on what they were able to score.

The Target closest to me will sometimes get one, just one bag, in a collection. Cue tears. I never did get that Jason Wu bag I wanted and I’m not going to buy it on Ebay. Why would I pay double to the men who elbowed me out of the way to get that bag?

The Phillip Lim line for Target included the most handbags of any of their collaborations. The best part is that they mirror his actual $800 and up handbags. Less than two months after my favorite Philip Lim eyeglass frames were eaten by my friend’s dog, his Target collection went on sale. I put it in my calendar. I intended to get to the store, but then, just as I had the day the Missoni for Target collection went on sale (see steam pouring out of my ears because I was getting picked up at 6 A.M. to get to the airport for a conference on direct marketing), I decided to skip the feeding frenzy and shop online.

IMG_8584

By 5:45 A.M. the mini black satchel was gone (if you really still want one, yes those folks who grabbed them just to sell, have them up on Ebay), however I wound up with the medium one and then, it was just right there and looking too adorable to resist- scooped up a mini grey bag. So, instead of the one bag I really wanted, oh Phillip Lim now I have two bags for under $75 instead of paying $900 for one.

IMG_8582

After a few weeks of using each bag, I can say this was the right choice. I couldn’t be happier after initially thinking one was too small and one too large. The smaller grey one is perfect for hitting a farmer’s market or heading to the dog park. The large black one holds the various books I always have with me and my journal to write down any story ideas. Thank you Phillip Lim for being such a wonderful designer and willing to make a quality product. Every time I see a Phillip Lim Target bag around town, it makes me smile.

4 thoughts on “Brand of the Week: Phillip Lim…Ramble

  1. I was curious if you ever thought of changing the structure of your website?

    Its very well written; I love what youve got to say.
    But maybe you could a little more in the way of content so people could connect with it better.
    Youve got an awful lot of text for only having one or
    two images. Maybe you could space it out better?

    • Actually I had five images, but they didn’t come through, and if you look at most of my other posts you will find some media. Thanks for the feedback.

  2. Hey, congrats on those great deals! I heart handbags (more than shoes – I know, that’s crazy) but have gotten really miserly about buying them. In part, a single mom can’t go to crazy, but also because I remember when spending $40 on a pocketbook was an extravagance. So I’ve mostly made do with Lancome tote freebies for the past decade. Lately, I’ve bought a few bags, which have fallen to pieces quickly under my not-so-tender mercies. Now, shocking myself, I’ve got my eye on a Brighton bag (it’s almost $300, which blows my mind, but I kind of covet it).

    Check Out Mina’s Resurrection Blogfest II!

  3. Pingback: Homepage

Leave a Reply

