Crush of the Week: Bastille…Ramble


I can’t help it. I had another crush in mind this week, which will now have to wait because I can’t stop, and I won’t stop, with my Bastille obsession. It’s been a long time since I cared so much about a new band. When music is your business and everyone sends you stacks of music “you have to listen to” because “it’s the dopest shit EVER”, you stop caring. Yep, I know, that seems impossible, but it happened for a while. It’s been almost two years since I officially stopped working for a record label. I’ve gone to see a bunch of new artists I dig, like Olly Murs and Jesse Ware, but my obsession has been for Bastille, who I have yet to see live.

Bastille make me smile and they are masters of the Cover Song. They put out an entire album of covers called “Other People’s Heartache” that I’ve only been able to listen to on Soundcloud. It has also amused me that my favorite spin teacher has included ‘Pompeii’ as a regular song during class. I’m a very lyric driven person so it seems like an odd choice, but yet, it’s the song that spurs me on and I close my eyes and work harder. A few days ago, Bastille were on the BBC Live Lounge and covered the wrecking ball herself, Ms. Miley Cryus’ “We Can’t Stop” mixing in a little of “Achy Breaky Heart” if you can believe it. What most moves me about this cover song, is not only the humor and enjoyment of the band performing it, but that instead of making it sound like one of their songs, the song is still identifiable (sounded a little bit like Eminem at the start) and it’s so damn sexy. Enjoy for yourself:

Leave a Reply

