Blend Blend… My Juicer’s End?…Ramble


It’s spring and the temperatures in New York are finally reflecting that. It’s time to come out of the winter food coma and face that shorts/bikini/dresses are putting your legs on display. Hopefully you didn’t put on too much winter weight. My French bulldog, Elle and I put on a little and we’ve been battling it with her epic walks whenever the weather permits. She has already lost her extra weight (woohoo because 1 lb on a canine = 10 lbs on a human, size relative y’all), but I still have a few pounds that need to be gone like the wind (not fabulous- Housewife fans you feel me?!

I love juicing and it has helped me lose 30 lbs and keep it off over the last eighteen months. However, I have been thinking about getting a high-end blender for a long time to make my life easier. Soups take me 2-3 hours manually, with the blenders it’s about 30 minutes with prep and cooking. I’m one of those people who never even thought of getting even a little food processor to make my life easier. Last year I bought a vegetable peeler for the first time and it change my life. My Mom wasn’t the appliance reliant type of cook so I never have been but since I starting juicing and clean eating I have been doing a lot more in the kitchen. 

After the veg peeler I got myself a proper set of knives. Oh how I love my fabulous knife block! My friend Brian came over the other day and said he was impressed with my knife skills. Thanks B! I have used every single one of the knives and it is one of the best and basic tools of the kitchen. I can’t believe it took me this long to pay attention to getting the proper devices. 

Well, I finally got my fantastic blender this week and Brian came over to help me break it in with some smoothies out of The Body Reset Diet book by Harley Pasternack. January through March really had me in a rut after I stepped off a curb incorrectly reactivating an old injury I got falling down the stairs when I worked at Yahoo! (which lead to an operation), so my cardio has dramatically slowed down. I saw Harley talking about his new book and thought that was something I really wanted to try. 

The program is fifteen days and this is day three for me. It is also day three with my new blender. I’m still learning some tricks but fortunately I mastered making the green smoothie last night so I can have spinach in my shakes. I also should point out that due to my previous experience and blender time, I thought it would be fine to add some psyllium husk to help get to the 40 grams of fiber Harley wants you to consume a day on this plan. Huge mistake on my part, it made the shake into a pudding consistency and inedible. Truly gross and a waste of some fantastic berries. 

Harley is pro-blender, anti-juicing like many people. The reasonsing is juicing separates out all the nutrients and fiber of the ingredients’ skin and can leave a lot of waste, juices have a high natural sugar content. I have seen the magic juicing has worked and how great I feel when I’m drinking it so I disagree with this statement. I will never turn my back on my juicer. It is a good and easy way if you are a busy person to get in all the vegetables you need on a daily basis. That being said the blender is far easier to clean and the smoothies are very filling. For me, as a now practiced juicer, I find juices also fill me up. My body’s needs and tastes have changed as a result of juicing and I consume less in general or pay the price. I’m looking forward to the end of the program – yeah I have 12 days to go….so I can get out my juicer again and make my own hummus and soups in the blender. I wouldn’t put one above the other and I have seen the argument made by nutritionists on both sides. If you don’t have either it might be easier to go with a blender though because it is more diverse in functionality and smoothies are more filling to the average person starting this type of lifestyle.

Leave a Reply

