I was just about to start getting my recipe list together for Irish Soda Bread. This is a much healthier recipe than the one I use although there is still buttermilk & butter…maybe I’ll stick to the one I’ve been baking my whole life and stick to tradition but these ‘cakes’ look yummy.

from scratch club

I’m about to share a recipe flop with you. Enticing, isn’t it? Let me explain.

Lately I’ve been playing with whole-grain/rice-free gluten-free recipes and I turned my attention to Irish soda bread. Years ago, I created a recipe that makes a large loaf of Americanized soda bread. It’s delicious. Among other things, it contains caraway seeds, eggs, and sugar. Three ingredients you wouldn’t find in traditional Irish soda bread.

Since I really enjoyed the recipe, I worked on creating a whole-grain version. And since I was going whole-grain, I thought, “Why not make it egg-free too?” So I replaced the white and sweet rice flours with a blend of gluten-free oat flour, sorghum flour, and cornflour.* Since egg-free baking does better in small sizes than it does in large loaves or cakes, I dropped the batter onto a baking sheet, as you would do for biscuits or scones. In fact…

View original post 481 more words

Leave a Reply

