Four and Twenty Black Birds…Ramble


As children we often get fixated on one particular story, that perhaps shapes our lives without us even knowing it, until, as adults we rediscover it reading it to the young lives that surround us. Remember this one?

Sing a song of sixpence a pocket full of rye,
Four and twenty blackbirds baked in a pie.
When the pie was opened the birds began to sing,
Oh wasn’t that a dainty dish to set before the king?

Imagine opening that pie for real! What if the blackbirds were just a delightful name of a pie shop that was delicious and lured you there with a slogan like:

Did you say PIE?!

Mmm. A certain pregnant person emailed me about the existence of this magical pie shop, Four and Twenty Blackbirds,  on the corner of 3rd Street and 3rd Avenue in Brooklyn. I replied it looked good. She said I should go and retrieve such a pie for the holidays. The holiday pies could only be ordered online at a price of $35 plus tax, no delivery and no shipping. In order to commit to such a pie, it had to be deemed worthy. I rushed over last Sunday to sample the Salted Carmel Apple Pie only to find it had sold out from the time I called to my turn in for pie. A woman next to me confessed she and her daughter had driven up from South Carolina for that particular pie and were ready to cry. Um, hello you might get them to reserve you the pie and maybe you should order ahead before making that kind of a journey.

I opted instead for the Salted Honey Pie, which, upon first taste, had @jrjeffrey screaming “Shut the F#$ up!” It was like nothing either one of us had ever tasted before and at the point of purchase, I had a moment of doubt which evaporated into a cloud of instead addiction! We also split a piece of the Cranberry Sage Pie for a completely different savory taste. That Salted Honey Pie ruined me and when it was time to pick up the regular pie last Wednesday I decided to get a few slices to share at the office. Oh yeah, the pies at 24 Black Birds are seasonal and made to order. By the time we ordered Thursday and Friday (23rd & 24th) were already sold out so I got up on birthday at drove over to make my 8AM pick up time.

You had me at Chocolate Pecan Pie!

Salted Honey Pie, I said, hmm, you are divine but let me get a slice of the pie I’m picking up and add Chocolate Pecan Pie to as well. Oh my Lord! These two sisters, Emily and Melissa,  who own the shop are fantastic, friendly and talented.

As for that Salted Caramel Pie, it was a huge hit this week and I think there may be a new tradition at the table:

Salted Carmel Apple Pie, no blackbirds inside

 

Leave a Reply

