This House is Crowded with Favorites…Ramble


I Feel Possessed

Last week I posted excitedly about my love for Crowded House’s new album ‘Intriguer‘- at that time I didn’t have a ticket and my two ‘sources’ who had said they might be able to come through but couldn’t in the end….but posting about it led to an amazing opportunity not only to see the show but to hang with a new friend.

It’s always like going home when I goto a Crowded House show. I was so excited it was Nicole’s, (who had the extra ticket), first time seeing Crowded House live. The Bowery Ballroom was ‘crowded but …with love’ and wasn’t overly sold though it was sold out. It was comfortable and as we have aged with the band, it wasn’t the normal smelly boy rock show, but an excellent gathering of those who, like the band are “wild but calm.”

Neil’s voice was in fine form as they kicked off the show with “I Feel Possessed.” The two and a half! hour set list was nearly perfection. It would have lasted longer only a ridiculous and non-functional MTA curfew got the band to stop at 11:30. I know I normally don’t like to list set lists but here are a few of the many songs that were played last night:

Hole In The River, Don’t Dream It’s Over

Kill Eye; Mansion in the Slums (I have been singing this randomly for the last week); and When You Come.

Whispers and Moans; It’s Only Natural; Four Seasons in One Day– during the encore Neil switched up the lyrics to ‘Chocolate Cake’– “I saw Lindsay Lohan walk out of a 7-11. She was stocking up for the 3 months she’s going to prison, now the excess of fat on her American– waiiiit she’s not fat and that’s where the song falls apart.” Of course, they kept going.

Liam on the left 'English Trees'

It was only 3 songs in when we were all in our first sing-a-long of the night. The night was made even more special with the addition of two Finns- first Liam on “Nobody Wants To” and “English Trees” from Time on Earth, then later the lovely Mrs. Sharon Finn joined for “Isolation” and “Either Side of the World.” It was lovely, dreamy and totally a wonderful treat for fans especially when Neil gave his missus a short kiss following the two songs. Very sweet! Thank you Sharon for inspiring so many wonderous songs that have become the fabric of our Crowded House lives. I am wondering if we will ever see Elroy Finn join his dad on stage.

Sharon at the back during 'Isolation'

We were also treated to favorites “Distant Sun” and “Private Universe.” All in all a totally magical evening. It seemed they would have played “Amsterdam” but you may still hear it.

Sadly the guy with the USB sticks only arrived to America yesterday so last night’s show was recorded but not available for purchase. I’ll have to get it off the website when it goes on sale because that was an incredible show during which we learned in the banter that Neil was recently referred to as looking more like ‘a head waiter’ than a rock star. Neil said he was glad he was the head waiter…

We also learned that Nick found Sweden to be a very satisfying place to move his bowels. No, I’m not kidding, I wish I was but it was all in good fun just like those mustaches that have grown both on Neil and now on Nick. Mark’s days as a clean-shaven man may quickly give way to peer pressure.

Musically and lyrically this band continue to be interesting, inventive and passionate.

2 thoughts on “This House is Crowded with Favorites…Ramble

  1. I love Crowded House. I’m going to see them in a few weeks. This made me even more excited to see them! Sounds like a great night. Glad to hear the banter is back up to awesome. 😛

    • Yeah, sorry Crowdie on the email thing- I did change it so it’s not necessary but I guess this theme doesn’t allow that. I’m open to suggestions of themes that don’t requiere that if anyone knows of one.

      The show was so much fun! I was so happy they went back to ‘Temple of Low Men’ so much. It’s been so long since I’ve heard those songs live. Ahhh love them.

Leave a Reply

