5 Questions with @ubignut…Ramble


Brains & Beauty to boot!

When @ubignut is around there is always a spark to any room. When I met her at Yahoo! it was amidst the craziest of times over there. Even Lloyd Braun described working at Yahoo! like being in a car going 80 miles an hour on the freeway, blowing a tire, having to fix that tire while still driving…..um, yeah that’s actually so accurate.

Kris (aka ubignut) always had a smile on her lips and knew how to document each great social gathering and the calvacade of goodbye parties. She knows how to hang with the guys while retaining her femininity which is something I’ve always admired about her. She is always on the cutting edge of technology and willing to hop on a plane for adventure.

Location: Los Angeles, CA
Vocation: Loving life and eating great food
Sign: Aries

website: I haven’t updated this in a year! (www.ubignut.com)

1) Did you have any previous interest in acting before appearing as a ‘Katalyst’ worker?
Not really.  I think the last time I actually did something was Annie Get Your Gun when I was 8 or 9 years old. After that, there was some modeling in my last years of high school.  KatalystHQ is us here at work, randomly being asked to participate in the videos – you never know when you’re going to be selected or what the episode is usually about so it’s more real 🙂

2) What is the best part of your job?
The ability to be creative is the best part.  I love the challenge of coming up with something new and exciting and then see it get implemented across the web.  Also the fact that I am helping really cool Brands on the Social Web who normally would turn to traditional marketing campaigns.  It’s can be demanding like any other job, but at the end of the day, when I see all that has been done with the clients I work with, it makes me really happy.

3) As an extensive traveller, what are some suggestions for winter getaways and what’s next on your list?

Find the sun!  Why be cold when you can be warm!  I love Belize and the Caribbean.  South America is awesome!  Another great place for the winter is Asia (ie: Thailand!).  All of these places offer great sites, warm weather and FANTASTIC food to try and savor!  I also love being a part of the culture anywhere I go.  You have to try it in order to understand it and love it.  That is what makes the experience even more memorable.

4) After hanging out while Kenna in the recording studio, can you give us any hints/impressions as to the upcoming album compares to his debut?
Let’s just say… it’s HOT!  He’s such a great artist and huge inspiration with his ongoing efforts to raise awareness to clean water.  His music just only gets better and better and he really knows how to get people moving.  Just wait, you’ll love it!  There’s a sneak peek with his single “TURN” which is on ITunes today… get it. The proceeds go to @SOTSK http://bit.ly/908BBz

(ed note: I absolutely adore Kenna. When I met him before a  Mark Ronson show in LA, he gave me a kiss on the cheek and I promised him we could make out another time. Of course then I ran into him downstairs five minutes later…just say goodbye to love.…!)

5) This year’s line up for Coachella is huge. As a veteran festival-goer, what are your tips for mastering a good time at Coachella?
I am LOVING this years lineup and can’t wait!  My tips are the same year after year… 1) rent a house with a pool with friends.  Forget the camp grounds, go big and have fun doing it.  If quite a few people pitch in, it’s not that expensive  2) choose which artists you want to see based on the times they go on.  Listen to samples of the artists in advance so you know their style & what suits you.  Plus you’ll know which tents you’ll be frequenting most often.  3) beat the heat and party at the house during the day.  You can hang by the pool, BBQ, sleep… whatever.  Then right around 3 to 4pm-ish, start heading to the festival. 4) If you go as a group, coordinate.  Cell phone service is CRAP for AT&T folks.  You send a text saying “Meet me at….” and then they get it 2 hours later… not cool.  So I usually pick a spot at each tent that I’m always at so my friends know where to find me.


One thought on “5 Questions with @ubignut…Ramble

  1. Pingback: What Else I Learned At SXSWi…Ramble « Ramblings of the BK GrrlGenius

Leave a Reply

