Crush of the week: Clint Eastwood…Ramble


Have I let the root canal painkillers goto my head? No my friends. I love talented, smart people who do interesting things and thus Clint Eastwood is my Crush of the Week. Yesterday I saw Invictus which gets off to a slow start then envelopes the audience into cheering on the broken country of South Africa united in the greatest world stage where so many things are forgiven– sports.

Mr. Eastwood serves as director on another quality film. Last year his brilliant Gran Torino was snubbed as he befriended a very sassy, fearless neighbour named Sue, who reminds me of my friend Betty. She wasn’t taking crap from anyone. I love that Eastwood has been adding such quality films to his directing arsenal. I know he’s been doing at it since the 90’s, while other actors of his age have retired like the rapscallion 007 Sean Connery, and yet each time he directs Mr. Eastwood continues to astound me. ┬áViva Mr. Eastwood for stretching our imaginations and boundaries of race in stories that find hope when none seems possible. Perhaps as Morgan Freeman’s Mandela recites from the poem Invictus by William Earnest Henley:

Beyond this place of wrath and tears
Looms but the Horror of the shade,
And yet the menace of the years
Finds, and shall find, me unafraid.

It matters not how strait the gate,
How charged with punishments the scroll.
I am the master of my fate:
I am the captain of my soul

Leave a Reply

