George Michael Sex, Drugs..Shh no rock n’ roll talk…Ramble


George Michael’s admissions to The Guardian that he is down from a high of 25 spliffs a day to 7 or 8 is ‘Simply Amazing.’ Well, not really but you know I was dying to write that. It’s not even so much the crack cocaine useage that got my attention since George has been known to have daliences, public sexual liasons and fall asleep at the wheel when he was high.

Photo By Andrew McPherson via http://www.guardian.co.uk

My favorite quote in the story is actually about how Bono and Elton John are banding together to try and save him:

He smiles. “Elton lives on that. He will not be happy until I bang on his door in the middle of the night saying, ‘Please, please, help me, Elton. Take me to rehab.’ It’s not going to happen. You know what I heard last week? That Bono… Oh for God’s sake…” He’s choking on his laughter. “Geri [Halliwell] told Kenny that Bono, having spoken to Elton, had approached Geri to say, ‘What can we do for George?’ This is what I have to deal with because I don’t want to be part of that social clique. All I’d have to do to stop it is hang out in London, so people realise I don’t look close to death.”

So Bono could save him? “As if Bono gives a shit what I do with my private life… Elton just needs to shut his mouth and get on with his own life. Look, if people choose to believe that I’m sitting here in my ivory tower, Howard Hughesing myself with long fingernails and loads of drugs, then I can’t do anything about that, can I?”

It’s funny because we all have friends like that. The self-righteous ones who make their concern more about themselves then they do about actually helping us through life’s difficult moments. Bono is the self-appointed messiah of the world and I’m sure he considers ‘fixing’ George Michael as a checklist item at this point. Sure, he’s done a lot of good in the world, but it’s funny to know his peers get just as annoyed with his meddling as the rest of us do at times.

The article in The Guardian is one of the best I’ve ever read on George because he is at that place where he doesn’t give two craps about what anyone thinks of him. There is also audio of George feeling bad that people thought he was recklessly doing drugs and driving, deliberately endangering pedestrians and other cars.

Oh George. No matter what I will always love you and your voice. I am glad that despite you announcing you were retiring from  touring, you’ve announced dates in Australia after 22 years. Sadly I can’t afford to fly down under for that but I’ll be living vicariously through many of my friends.

Georgie old boy! Take care of yourself. I can’t wait to hear the new music that’s been inspired by all your trials and tribulations. Don’t wait another ten years for the next installment of “Patience” because it’s much too long.

Love, Grrlgenius

3 thoughts on “George Michael Sex, Drugs..Shh no rock n’ roll talk…Ramble

    • Really Sharla? He went on a world tour and did 105. Last year I went to see him in NY, Chicago and Philly on that tour. “Twenty Five” came out last year which is an amazing ‘greatest hits’ so even if you missed the last couple of albums, you can get a great mix on there and it includes some new duets as well as a couple of Wham! tunes.

      George caused a big stir as a guest star when Beyonce played the O2 arena in London this summer and he also had the first show at the newly reopened Wembly Stadium in June ’07. I know because I got to feature it on Yahoo!’s homepage — they take down something that doesn’t click & GM was up for over 2 hours. He’s still in the top 20 all time best sellers for Sony Music.

      Maybe you should ask for “Twenty Five” as a Christmas gift!

  1. Pingback: Eurasian Power Trio Activate Form of NY Tourist…Ramble « Ramblings of the BK GrrlGenius

Leave a Reply

