Cover Songs…Ramble


The advent of YouTube speed up the process of immersing yourself in user-generated content. It turned into ripping off protected content, reuniting us with video we hadn’t seen in years from the archives, made TIVO less necessary and put the user in control.

In the last couple of years it’s also excelerated the process of covering songs. Artists used to pick older, popular hits to get the attention of the public, reinventing them or not in some cases. I am obsessed with cover songs. One of my favorites is Travis’ version of ‘Baby…One More Time,’ which they have been performing for years. It’s a B-side from back in the day (yes it’s still in my physically alphabetized collection.)

Another favorite, for a different reason, oh I can’t even write this with a straight face, was seeing listening to Ray-J butchers “Clocks” by Coldplay. It was coming through the walls for hours when I was still working at Yahoo! I couldn’t stay in the studio for more than a few minutes listening to him. He was looking at words off of his sidekick.

What’s not to like about the distracted, hired musicians who are wishing they too could “go home” when Ray J puts his own spin on this by screaming out “You…you…I don’t think you know what I’m talking about…” yeah, and neither did you fool. It was funny how many artists wanted to come in and cover Coldplay. Poor Natasha Bedingfield lost out because Ray J had recorded his version of “Clocks” first. No doubt, Natasha is a true pro, regrouped and then killed it covering Maroon 5 “This Love.”

I love you NB, but my favorite cover in the time I was Head of Music Video Programming for Yahoo! Music was Mandy Moore’s cover of ‘Umbrella’ which wound up hitting radio, gettings over a million plays on YouTube and getting tons of press.

It’s cool when established artists, play music they didn’t write to show their abilities (cough thanks Ray J bwahahaha.) Who hasn’t blasted Jimi Hendrix’s version of ‘The Star Spangled Banner?’ (Really kids, you don’t have a version of this in your collection? WTF?)

Loving Coldplay having fun with “Billie Jean.”

Aside from YouTuber’s and semi-established covers, now we have brand new artists covering hits to get our attention. If you haven’t already fallen in love with the wonderful GaryGo, you will get his sense of humor, along with his talent with his cover of Lady Gaga’s “Let’s Dance.”

It’s really amazing when artists humanize themselves by covering songs that we all love. There are endless covers to amaze us. Rolling Stone picked Cali native, Anya Marina as one of their top ten artists to watch. I like watching her new video which has a cameo from Daniel V. and some dude from Weeds (I haven’t seen it so I don’t know, as well as a dude from Cloverfield) in NY’s Babeland,sex shop version of T.I.’s “Whatever You Like.” I love when artists tackle a song already a hit in it’s own right, and really do more then just cover it, they own it, they interpret it, making it their own.

In case you missed the hyperlink for it, check it out by clicking on this sentence!!! or just watch the entertaining live version:

I have to include my fave new popstar this year, Pixie Lott. She is absolutely fun, talented, and she reminds me of my friend Sami Fitz, especially when she wears sparkling shorts!

Of course, nothing can beat the timing for this classic:

There are dozens of examples, some that I’ve already mentioned by Pearl Jam covering Hunters & Collectors, Coldplay covering A-ha, Robbie Williams, Gwyneth Paltrow, George Michael did an entire ‘Cover To Cover’ tour……yes, this could take all day. Tell me your favorite cover songs.

Love, kisses & pop glitter!

