Snow Patrol Hearts New York…Ramble


We Heart You Too!

We Heart You Too!


As I mentioned in my Chicago post, there’s a band from Ireland that makes my heart beat rapidly and my body move up and down, fists swaying without control to their happy rhythms, known as Snow Patrol. This summer I tried to take my sister to see them twice. We were going to meet up in Indiana to see them open for Coldplay, yet the timing was craptastic. Then we were excited to see them open for U2 at Soldier Field in Chitown, and uh, yeah we missed them due to mixing up the show times.

Luckily for me, time number eight happened yesterday (yes once I saw them 4 times in 2 cities in one week) in the greatest city on earth. My poor sister, who’s birthday it is today- Happy Birthday Shauna!, was already back in Chicago after a weekend in NY. Yeah, our timing is not so great so I shall pull a Gary Lightbody move and dedicate the show to Shauna.

If you guessed the 1st song was 'Take Back The City' you win a gold star!

If you guessed the 1st song was 'Take Back The City' you win a gold star!

Gary was happy enough to give NY it’s props saying it is the city they have played in & drank the most in the US. He went on to thank NY for being one step ahead of the curve on everything. Why Thank you Mr. Lightbody. His voice was in fine form so folks worried about the pollops from the last tour, let’s cross fingers he keeps that way.

It was bang hit hit hit after hit, a great mix of ‘Final Straw’, ‘Eyes Open’ and ‘A Hundred Million Suns’- to which I have to “Just Say Yes.”

The third song in was the song made me fall in love with Snow Patrol while I was on a boat in Malta, ‘Chocolate.’ What was I doing in Malta? Well, back then Jen and Brad were still Jen and Brad. “Troy” had been filmed partially on Malta so they had a little fun getaway there. While in Malta with the aforementioned birthday girl and her fellow birthday girl, my friend whom Shauna stole, Jackie, all thought we’d enjoy their nightlife. Jackie had decided being Hawaiian wasn’t for some reason, exotic enough and decided she was going to say she was a Malaysian Princess. Holla! We walked down a long street on the main island of St. Julian’s in the Pacevilla area as instructed, packed with nightclubs, neon flashing invitingly to our dance feet, people streaming in and music pumping out a good time. We got to the bottom of the hill and made it to this remote club we were told by several different islanders would be right for us. It was packed with all the non-English people & it was a total freak show even Britney Spears would’ve gone running in the other direction…..end flashback. (New readers, it’s called a ramble for a reason.)

Cutting back to last night, I was brimming over with love to correct the once, twice send out the fool alert, Snow Patrol ‘Take Back The Cities‘ tour.

Paul Wilson got a 'hot'cut

Paul Wilson got a 'hot'cut

Cascading melodies are always fun and who doesn’t freaking love that Gary is chatty? He’s a frontman who loves his bandmates, maybe just a little too much, although I dig it, there are some haters. Seriously? How can you hate his amiable personality? This being my 8th!! time seeing them over the past 3 albums, I can say Gary’s personality hasn’t changed from being a self-deprecating jokester who fancies dedicating songs to other bands and random fans.

Too close for comfort? It's just a bit of fun for the lads!

Too close for comfort? It's just a bit of fun for the lads!

I really did enjoy ‘Golden Floor’ (hmm segway to Mika’s “We Are Golden“, ah no too many distractions already!) off ‘A Hundred Million Suns.’ A lot of people tossed it in the trash since ‘Eyes Open’ was just jampacked with instant radio-friendliness, but on a second listen, the band continues the themes of eyes, carrying the weight of a relationship, and time. This time round it’s evolved to a place where they are not afraid of anything, even time. I personally like it when a band experiments and finding their new nuances. It’s keeps the creativity flowing. Someone might want to tie haters to a rocket or put out a 911 for the cuckolds of their cold, cold hearts to give it another shot.

You are getting sleepy....nah you are rocking out! Hands up!

You are getting sleepy....nah you are rocking out! Hands up!


Are you seeing stars? Like A Hundred Million of them?

Are you seeing stars? Like A Hundred Million of them?

Now that I have you where I want you, you should be rejoicing that Snow Patrol have a new single and you really should “Just Say Yes.” I’m digging it’s dance feel after seeing the fellas spin in Chicago. The good news is….there’s another album coming out with a 3 hr DVD of live footage. Meow, wrap it up, send it to me for Christmas, I’m done.

Oh man, some old school 'Final Straw' goodness. Bless ya Gary!

Oh man, some old school 'Final Straw' goodness. Bless ya Gary!

Reasons I love Seeing Snow Patrol Live:
1) They SMILE and look like they enjoy playing their music, not bored like some other wankers, hello Weezer.
2) Nathan…..mmm, you are so adorable when you sing along to the parts you don’t have to sing back up too.
3) Did I mention they admit their flaws? During the acoustic part of ‘Run’ Gary was just knocking it out of the park, then the rest of the band came back on to take it up a notch, it went all haywire with the equipment. They promised to play it again. They were forgiven instantly with a rousing sing-a-long of ‘Shut Your Eyes.’
4) ‘Chasing Cars’ makes me melt, then ‘Hands Open‘ catapults me into spastic dance moves. I am also at one with the lyrics ‘you’re cinematic razor sharp, a welcome arrow through the heart. Give me a chance to hold on’– if you insist! It reminds me of when the international fellow music programmers of Yahoo! (Canada, Australia, England) came to LA & we went to see Snow Patrol at The Wiltern (show #7 I’ve seen.) Oh, how the only male, Andy was so tormented by us. The head of the UK, Traci (so gorgeous) like, totally, OMG, pointed to me during those lyrics. Good times, good times yeah.
5) Richard of Belle & Sebastian, a band Snow Patrol is heavily influenced by is on the road with them playing drums.
6) There is a sexually charged makeout/snog/pesh vibe to their shows. Sadly I have never made out at one of their shows because I’m too busy enjoying the music but oh man, can I dig it.
7) True to their word, Snow Patrol added ‘Run’ fully plugged in to their encore.
8) Gary once looked at my red shoes.

What a fabulous couple we'd make!

What a fabulous couple we'd make!

