Do You Remember The Time?…MJ Ramble


Today we say goodbye to a man who brought us all together, who lived his whole life in the spotlight, who broke records and barriers. It was 26 years ago that his first solo album “Thriller” became the biggest selling album of all time and helped him break free of his father’s chokehold.

Michael Jackson made us all feel great. “Do You Remember The Time” when Michael Jackson was in his hey day? Album after album- Bad, Dangerous, that followed and captivated our ears and our feet. He used music videos as an art form. Don’t even pretend that you didn’t have or covet a Michael Jackson leather jacket or his signature sparkle covered glove.

Having worked in the music industry, last year a co-worker asked me why I gave Michael Jackson as an example of the types of artists I had help market.  I thought she was kidding. One thing that has been brought back by his passing is the love of Michael’s body of music.

During sophomore year, it was a tradition at my high school dance for the parents to surprise/haze/embarrass/scar for life the students with surprise performances. It was with applause that a group of mothers dressed as Michael Jackson performed to catcalls of “that is amazing,” “so cool” and “oh my Gods”- I probably uttered a number of those things once I realized one of the mothers with a dummy strapped to them dancing was mine! It was such a highlight, at the high school reunion more people asked me how my mother was doing then about myself.

Michael’s music touched our lives, provided us with a reason to dance and made us smile. People are weeping, it doesn’t matter if they are black or white, pink, yellow or green. I hope Michael is free of the pain that ailed him. Free of the controversies in his life so that it can be celebrated. People are weeping, it doesn’t matter if they are black or white, pink, yellow or green. I hope Michael is free from people ‘doggin me around’ and the controversies in his life so that it can be celebrated, his legacy remaining. RIP Michael.

(You can watch his videos here Sony disabled the embed function.)

One thought on “Do You Remember The Time?…MJ Ramble

  1. Pingback: 5 Questions with @shazzzadd…Ramble « Ramblings of the BK GrrlGenius

Leave a Reply

