Britney…Ramble


On Friday there was a bit of an adventure in the air as I was about to see you ‘live’ in concert for the 7th time Brit Brit. The first time was opening for N’Sync at Universal Theatre many moons ago. 

Having, myself, been apathetic in general for the last couple of months, a stirring of excitement arose awaiting my friend, Red, to get off the train on Long Island where I was picking her up to head to Nassau Coliseum. 

 

Seriously, I heart you Brit

Seriously, I heart you Brit

 

 

 

We wondered what train line our friends were talking about that let them off two blocks from the venue but were happy to drive on over there in MINI style. After being cutoff by an octagenerian, calling him a perv – he had no kids in the car that looked remotely appropo of your fanbase, we tried to find parking. Then we found the hold-up was some jackass selling faux t-shirts…for Fleetwood Mac. Seriously? Holding up the line and not even selling the right t-shirts. 

When we got the door, our tickets didn’t work. Red told the ticket taker that the tickets were from the label. It was at this point, that the issue of the venue came up– this isn’t the Prudential Center? Uh, no. I assumed it was at Nassau Coliseum and we proceeded that way ….after Googlemapping the Prudential Center, we hopped in the MINI and raced to Newark, NJ to see your Circus.

It was a circus indeed.

 

Crack That Whip

Crack That Whip

 

 

Pasties, dance interludes a plenty, video montages to remind us just how long we loved you and the girl screaming next to me how she was turned on by ‘white trash’ and wanted to marry you. Um what? Well, that wasn’t the strangest part of the “Freak Show.”

Didn't see anything hanging out....

Didn't see anything hanging out....

 

 

Many make comments that there were a lot of interludes indeed- hey if this lets us have you ‘back’ and happy, and smiling, then I’m all for it. The one part I would remove is the Verizon clown interlude, it made no sense. I did love the dancer mash-up to current music as you could instantly tell what your audience loves- um, sorry ‘Slumdog Millionaire’ but M.I.A was not recognized (except by us older folks.)

Back to you Brit , it was amazing to see “Touch Of My Hand”

Another day without a lover, the more I understand the touch of my hand

Another day without a lover, the more I understand the touch of my hand

your self-exploratory song which you performed in a bathtub last time round, and was visually exciting to see you lifted and spinning through the air and sitting on two dancers. I would say that was the highlight of the show for me as well as “Toxic”- those sparkle pants were killer. 

 

Sparkle pants are hot.

Sparkle pants are hot.

 

 

 

As always, the great big sing-along was entertaining and a blast. I did wonder why there were no elephants at your circus but you have enough to deal with as it is! I’ve seen you end up all wet, this time round there were still sparkles and fire. In this hard economic time, when life has been throwing punch after punch, it’s important to have fun and give into some fun people. 

 

Shower yourself in fun

Shower yourself in fun

 

 

xx, Grrlenius in BK

 

Feel The Joy

Feel The Joy

p.s. 

Sorry P.C.D. we totally missed your set and I wanted to see your ‘Bottle Pop’ but have to settle for dancing around in my apartment to ‘Doll Domination’ instead.

Leave a Reply

