Robbie’s Body (of work) is worth the Ramble


The last couple of years have seen the workplace get more sterile. I had a meeting with a management company where the interviewer gave me a disclaimer because they make jokes after knowing each other over ten years plus that some people might, well sue for harassment. They mean it in a rock n roll way. I told him I was fine with that but still, the boys’ club prevailed.

What has happened to fun? In my last office gig I implemented the five o’clock whistle on Friday. It basically consisted of me and one other guy, sometimes 2 dancing to the latest hits within the label family. Unfortunately the rest of the department would just stare at us and giggle when a lamp became involved, but never participate. Oh no! Someone MOVES to MUSIC! Call the po’ po’!

It makes me entirely joyful that the larger-than-life Robbie Williams is back making music! While his last album ‘Rudebox‘ wasn’t a commercial success in his native UK, I absolutely loved that album especially “Summertime” which I used to blast in my Chili Red MINI Convertible on the way to work. Bye summer! Sadly, I couldn’t pray to you this year with a chandy! The hidden track part in particular on that track applies to the insanely aggressive and wretched driving I’ve seen this summer on the freeways. I believe it’s official name is ‘Dickhead.’

With the exception of ‘Escapology’, Robbie has never failed to deliver crafty fun albums full of ‘oh no he didn’t’ lyrics. And the answer is always ….oh yes, he did. One of my favorite Robbie moments was playing the video for “Rock DJ” for my younger sister. I had a VHS of it. I slowly backed away. She totally freaked out at the end. In case you’ve forgotten that brilliance, take a gander now:

When Robbie teamed up with Kylie Minogue it was like a match made in pop heaven! Not only was ‘Kids’ a big hit, but he wrote ‘Loveboat’ on my favorite Kylie album “Light Years,” which lead to a Kylie rediscovery by the powerful Gay US audience. Next thing you know, people are singing ‘Can’t Get You Out Of My Head’ and this fall Kylie will finally have her first US tour. Ever. I can’t wait, but I digress.

For me, Robbie Williams embodies everything that is FUN about pop music. The lyrics are sassy and who else would send up Madonna so deliciously? “I Love you baby but face it she’s Madonna?” I loved this song, but then when I saw the video, it became pure unadulterated genius. Another Robbie video that wasn’t released in the US, but I got to watch through a shared back end content management system- before the advent of YouTube. He’s just not afraid to address his sexuality, his drug use, Robbie always goes there in the most divine musical ways.

The only time I saw Robbie onstage was at Mark Ronson’s show in LA. Robbie walked in and it was astounding. Sorry Mark but seriously, once Robbie took the stage it was his night. Meooow!

Now Robbie Williams is back with his new single “Bodies” with catchy lyrics ‘All we’ve ever wanted is to look good naked, or someone who could take it.” The video is average, but the song is great and he does look amazing once more. Take a look for yourself.

I cannot wait for Robbie’s album ‘Reality Killed The Video Star.’

RKTVSReflected

I leave you with this reminder of how Robbie is the first one to take the piss out of himself, when he was performing live on this day three years ago and fell over. Thanks for making me always laugh and want to dance. It’s good to laugh. Long live Robbie!

3 thoughts on “Robbie’s Body (of work) is worth the Ramble

  1. wicked title!!!!!! i loved it!!!!!

    rudebox album is the first one i had put my hard earned shekels…:)

    oh thanks for this great read!!!! ;)

  2. Pingback: Kylie V. Madonna « Ramblings of the BK GrrlGenius

Leave a Reply

